Marion County

Marion County was established from portions of Alachua and Mosquito (Orange) Counties in 1844 and named for General Francis Marion, "Swamp Fox" of the Revolutionary War. 

Marion County is located in Central Florida south of Gainesville bordering Citrus, Sumter, Lake, Volusia, Putnam, Alachua and Levy Counties. 

Marion County Florida Image Map
Population - 2000
Population - 2010
Population - 2015 Est
Land Area (sq mi)
Water Area (sq mi)
Total Area (sq mi)
Average Rainfall
Temperature - Average High
Temperature - Average Low

March 31, 2018

Location: Downtown Ocala, Florida

Local beer and wine sellers gather in downtown Ocala for this fun event! Sample all kinds of beer and wine and enjoy food from local food trucks and live entertainment.

Marion County School District is headquartered in Ocala, Florida. The school district has authority over approximately 60 schools in the area, including charter schools and special needs schools.

Website Listings

The mission of The Cornerstone School is to inspire students to be passionate learners who think creatively and independently, and to nurture in them a sense of purpose guided by the values of tolerance, integrity, and mutual respect.

The Marion County Public Library System has 8 branches, 3 in Ocala and 1 in Belleview, Dunnellon, Ocklawaha, McCoy, and Reddick. The headquarters is in Ocala.

The Ocala Civic Theatre is a community theatre located in the Appleton Cultural Center in Ocala. It is one of the largest community theatres in Florida. 

CHEA is a wonderful way to stay connected to other homeschooling families. We have much to offer your family in the area of resources, field trips, clubs, activities and much more. 

An online and offline group for all homeschooling families grades K-12 who live in Ocala and surrounding areas. We welcome all homeschoolers, regardless of homeschooling method, group affiliate or religion (or lack of one).